Loading...
7.1. SR 07-29-2002MEMORANDUM TO: Housing & Redevelopment Authority Mayor & City Council FROM: DATE: Stephen Rohlf, Building and Zoning Adrninisfrafor July 29, 2002 SUBJECT: Downtown Revitalization Project - Consider Acceptance of Historic Contexts Study Item 7.1. Attachment · Historic Contexts Study and Phase II Inventory (Doxvntown Elk River) Background The Historic Contexts Study and Phase II Inventory results were presented to the HRA and City Council on May 28, 2002 by Carole Zellie of Landscape Research. At its June 24, 2002 meeting the HRA requested clarification on the recommendations contained in these documents. Ms. Zellie has made additional revisions per the Housing and Redevelopment Authority's (HRA) request. Analysis The purpose of completing the Historic Contexts Study was to provide a framework with which to evaluate the historic, architectural, and landscape sigr~fic~nce of inventoried properties. To satisfy potential federal requirements, a Phase II Inventory was also done on the properties being considered in the Downtown RevitaLization Project. The Phase II Inventory determined National Kegister eligibility of downtown properties and suggested a dizection for future local designations. It is not a local historic dis~ict study. Ms. Zellie found that none of the downtown properties appear to be eligible for the National Register. With this finding, any of the buildings in the downtown study area 'may be razed. The next question is whether or not the properties involved have local historic significance. When determining the direction and scope of a project in the downtown area, the HRA and City Council will have to consider numerous issues. One of these issues is the local historic sigrfificance of the properties affected by the project. It is the charge, of the city's Heritage Preservation Commission (HPC) to review and make recommendations regarding local historic designations. The HPC started reviewing the local historic significance of the properties in the downtown area at their July 11, 2002 meeting using the criteria set forth in the City's Ordinance. The findings in Landscape Research's Context Study and Phase II Inventory will also be considered by the HPC in this process. They will continue this work until it is finished, which may be as early as their August 8~h, 2002 meeting. Recommendation Staff feels that Landscape Research has fulfilled their responsibility to provide the City of Elk River with a Historic Context Study of the entire city and a Phase II Inventory of the pertinent properties included in the Do~vntown Revitalization Project. Staff is ,. recommending that the HRA and City Council accept both the Historic Context Study and Phase II Inventory. ELK RIVE R Elk River in 1903 Elk River Historic Contexts Study and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study Prepared for the Elk River Heritage Preservation Commission and the Elk River Housing and Redevelopment Authority Landscape Research St. Paul, Minnesota 2002 Elk River Historic Contexts Study and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study Prepared for the Elk River Heritage Preservation Commission and the Elk River Housing and Redevelopment Authority by Landscape Research St. Paul, Mirmesota 2OO2 Table of Contents Abstract / Executive Summary Part One Elk River Historic Contexts Report Organization Methods Historic Contexts Defined National Register of Historic Places Landscape Setting, 1851-1950 Agriculture, 1850-1950 Transportation, 1848-1950 Industry and Commerce, 1851-1950 Residential Architecture, 1851-1930 Schools, Churches, Cemeteries, and Local Institutions, 1854-1920 Recommendation Summary 7 11 17 25 37 41 44 Endnotes Bibliography 46 48 Part Two Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study Objectives Methods Summary of Findings Study Area Map 49 5O 5O 5O 51 (continued) Table of Contents, continued Phase II Inventoried Properties Address 304 Jackson Street 309 Jackson Street 313 Jackson Street 315 Jackson Street 323 Jackson Street Jackson Square 657 Main Street 653 Main Street 651 Main Street 649 Main Street 647 Main Street 641 Main Street 701 Main Street 703 Main Street 705 Main Street 707 Main Street 709 Main Street 713 Main Street 715 Main Street 717 Main Street 720 Main Street 724 Main Street 322 King Street Page 53 55 57 59 61 63 65 67 69 71 73 75 77 79 81 83 85 87 89 91 93 95 97 Abstract / Executive Summary The Elk River Historic Contexts Study and Phase II Inventory of the downtown commercial area was commissioned in 2002 by the Elk River Heritage Preservation Commission and the Elk River Housing and Redevelopment Authority. Carole Zellie of Landscape Research served as the principal investigator for both projects. Historic Contexts Part One outlines six Elk River historic contexts. Historic contexts provide a framework with which to evaluate the historic, architectural, and landscape architectural significance of inventoried properties. A property can be significant within one or more historic contexts. Properties grouped within historic contexts share a common theme, geographical area, and time period. Contexts studies typically precede intensive historic resource inventories that record a variety of architectural and historical information useful in further preservation planning. Further inventory of residential and agricultural properties is recommended; additional recommendations follow each context and are summarized on pages 44-45. The Elk River Historic Contexts identified in this study are Landscape Setting, 1848-1950; Agriculture, 1950-1950; Transportation, 1848-1950; Industry and Commerce, 1851-1950; Residential Architecture, 1851-1930, and Schools, Churches, Cemeteries, and Local Institutions, 1857-1920. The Oliver Kelley Farm is the only property currently listed on the National Register of Historic Places. No local designations have yet been made by the Elk River Heritage Preservation Commission (HPC). The HPC was created in 2001. Phase H Inventory Part Two reports the results of a Phase II inventory of 23 properties in the Elk River downtown commercial area. The study area is bounded by Highway 10 at the north, Main Street at the south, King Street at the east, and Jackson Street at the west. The objective of the Phase II study was to determine the significance of' historic resources in downtown Elk River and assess their potential eligibility for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. The study found that none the properties appear to be eligible for the National Register. However, five buildings on the west side of Jackson Street are recommended for further study. They are significant as part of the core of early twentieth-century downtown Elk River and retain varying amounts of their original historic facades. Futttre revitalization plans for this area are at an early stage, and may include restorati6n of existing buildings as Well as new construction. Coupled with the information contained in the Industry and Commerce historic context, the Phase II study can contribute to plans for downtown revitalization and also assist the Elk River Heritage Preservation Commission in determining future local designations, including a potential downtown commercial historic district. Preservation of Elk River's distinctive river setting and historic commercial buildings is an important part of future downtown development. New downtown construction should be compatible with the materials, style, placement, height, and pedestrian-oriented scale of existing historic buildings. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase [I Downtown Commercial Area Study 2 Part One Elk River Historic Contexts Report Organization Part One of the Historic Resources Study includes six historic contexts that analyze the historical and architectural development of Elk River. The contexts begin with permanent Euro-American settlement in the late 1840s and 1850s and extend to about 1950. Part Two contains the results of a companion study, an intensive survey of the downtown commercial area, and an inventory map. Methods The research was based on published histories such as the History of the Upper Mississippi Valley (1881), Edward Robinson's Early Economic Conditions and the Development of Agriculture in Minnesota (1915), historic maps, photos and aerial views, local newspapers, and federal census records. The subject files of the Sherburne County Historical Society provided information compiled by local historians over the past eighty years. Reconnaissance-level inventories conducted by the Minnesota Historical Society and the Sherburne County Historical Society (ca. 1980-1998) were also consulted. In addition to the Sherburne County Historical Society ardaives, the Minnesota Historical Society collections were a primary source of information. The City of Elk River also supplied maps and other materials. Of interest for future research are various manuscript collections at the Minnesota Historical Society related to early Elk River families. They include the papers of Charles Babcock, Ard Godfrey, W.H. Houlton, and John Q. A. Nickerson. A general windshield survey of Elk River accompanied the development of the historic contexts. Fieldwork in the commercial district included a Phase II study of historic properties within an area bounded by Main Street at the south, Highway 10 at the north, and King Street at the west. The study was conducted in compliance with the Secretary of the Interior's Standards and Guidelines for Archaeology and Historic Preservation. Tlw Elk River near its confluence with the Mississippi River', 2002. Elk River Historic Contexts arid Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 3 Historic Contexts Defined Historic contexts are part of the foundation for preservation planning, and assist in making decisions about planning, identification, evaluation, registration, and treatment of historic properties.~ Historic contexts provide a framework with which to evaluate the historic, architectural, and landscape architectural significance of inventoried properties. A property can be significant within one or more historic contexts. Properties grouped within historic contexts share a common theme, geographical area, and time period. Elk River's historic contexts intersect with broader statewide historic contexts such as Early Agriculture and River Settlement (1840-1870); Railroads and Agricultural Development (1870-1940), and Hydroelectric Power (1880- 1940)." When-combined veith an intensive historic resources inventory, the historic contexts study will provide the City of Elk River City with comprehensive information about the location and significance of its remaining historic resources, including its downtown, mill sites, and residential areas. The following Elk River historic contexts were identified: 1. Landscape Setting, 1848-1950 2. Agriculture, 1850-1950 3. Transportation, 1848-1950 4. Commerce and Industry, 1851-1950 5. Residential Architecture, 1851-1930 6. Schools, Churches, Cemeteries, and Local Institutions, 1857- 1920 The National Register of Historic Places One objective of d~,eloping historic contexts and historic resources inventories is to determine which properties might be eligible for the National Register of Historic Places (NRHP). The National Register was established by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966. It is the official federal listing of the nation's cultural resources deemed worthy of preservation. The National Park Service maintains the list that includes properties of local and state significance as well as those of national significance. A property listed on the National Register must meet at least one of four criteria. Under the first criterion, a property may be registered if it is associated with events that have made a significant contribution to the broad patterns of national, state, or local history. Under the second, a property may be registered if it is associated with the lives of persons important in the past. The third criterion addresses architectural significance, and the fourth addresses archaeological Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase [! Downtown Commercial Area Study 4 significance. In addition, listed properties must be at least fifty years old, should not have been significantly altered, and should have not been moved. National Register nominations must receive approval from the State Historic Preservation Review Board, the State Historic Preservation Officer, and the National Park Service. The Oliver Kelley Farm is the only Elk River property currently listed on the National Register. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 5 Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 6 EIk River Historic Context: Landscape Setting, 1851-1950 Construction of the Highway 10 bridge over the Elk River, 1940. Photo:MHS. This historic context extends from the construction of the first dam on the Elk River to the approximate completion of Highway 10 in about 1950. Elk River is located in east central Minnesota in Sherburne County, about 125 miles south of Duluth and 30 miles northwest of Minneapolis. Sherburne County was set off from Benton County in 1856, two years before Minnesota statehood. Highways 10 and 169 intersect south of the downtown, and the Highway 101 bridge crosses the Mississippi River to Otsego in Wright County. The Highway 10 bridge crosses the Elk River north of the downtown across a narrows in Lake Orono. The present incorporated limits of Elk River encompass 44 square miles including the former townsites of Orono and Elk River, as well as what was~ Elk River Township until its incorporation in 1978. The townsite of Orono was platted on the north bank of the Elk River, northwest of the present city center. The Elk originates in northern Benton County and has a discharge of about 250 cubic feet per second at Lake Orono, comparable to that of the Sauk River where it enters the Mississippi? Near its confluence with the Elk, the Mississippi River flows in a sharp bend where it is flanked by steep bluffs and marshes. The river divides Sherburne and Wright counties at this point. The nearby townsite of Elk River was platted on the north bank of the Mississippi, downriver from Orono. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Dozontown Commercial Area Study 7 The confluence of the Elk and Mississippi rivers was a well- known locale to Indians, fur traders and explorers for centuries before permanent Euro-American settlement. Historian Warren Upham wrote that Elk River was called the St. Francis River by eighteenth- and nineteenth-century explorers including Carver, Pike, Long and Schoolcraft. Beltrami and Nicollet, he notes, "used a Ojibway name for Elk River, translated as Double River, or by Allen as Parallel River, alluding to its course nearly parallel with the Mississippi? Upham suggests that the herds of elk found in the vicinity by Pike and later explorers and fur traders account for the present name, and both Elk River and Elk Lake appear on the first map of Minnesota Territory published in 1850. This glacial landscape occupies an area of marginal terrain, where woodlands edge prairies. Gravel deposits are common, and the soils are not rich and do not retain moisture well. Like much of surrounding Sherbume County, the relatively flat, sandy soils of Elk River Township provided good acreage for grazing and crop raising, and particularly potatoes. Early permanent Euro-American settlers seeking farmland found a hilly, forested belt in the northern part of the township, while there was level prairie in much of the southeastern comer. Trott and Tibbett's brooks drain the township from east to west; early historians noted that hay meadows gathered along their edges? There are several small, shallow lakes, such as Twin Lakes in Section 24 and Eagle Lake in Section 13. Small ponds persisted within the Elk River townsite after settlement. One was located at Jackson and Main streets and another at Minnesota and Main. The steep bluffs and island and marsh landscape found by early settlers has undergone great transformation. The natural action of erosion and flooding has been greatly accelerated by mill, dam, and road construction as well as agricultural land use and gravel mining. The dam built by Ard Godfrey and John Jameson in 1851 immediately flooded a large portion of Section 32 above the river, a feature now known as Lake Orono. Sedimentation and debris from log booms and saw milling infilled the channels of the Elk and Mississippi during the first decades of settlement. There are several islands in the main channel of the Mississippi at Elk River. The largest, opposite downtown, encompassed about sixty acres in 1900. W. H. Houlton, J.B. Rogers, and Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 8 Chase and Frye owned three other islands to the west. In 1902, the Davis Island Boom Company diverted the Mississippi River channel around the Chase and Frye Island, but erosion threatened the riverbank. The channel was subsequently restored. Between 1916 and 1978, Lake Orono served as the generator of electricity for the Elk River Power and Light Company. The lake level was lowered in 1978 to preserve the deteriorating dam. In 1980 the dam was rebuilt. (See Transportation Context.) A.W. Jesperson of Elk River had another vision for the Elk River that involved elaborate re-engineering at his Camp Cozy resort west of Lake Orono to accommodate a golf course and recreational canal. Elk River and a portion of Elk River Township, Minnesota, 1903 Atlas of Sherburne County. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 9 Elk River, 1971. Photo: MHS. Place Names In addition to Uppertown and Lowertown, which seem to still be recognized by some residents as early names for Orono and Elk River, respectively, there are several other place names of historic significance. Meadowvale was a small settlement of Hill, Bailey, and other families in the northwestern comer of the township. Houlton's Observatory, a wooden tower on the bluffs north of Elk River near Highway 77 and Ridgewood Drive was built by W.H. Houlton to provide a view of the landscape and eight counties.6 Preservation Planning Summary: Landscape Setting Inventoried Resources No specific landscape features have been inventoried. Recommendation(s) 1. Continue to research and interpret the relationship between the natural landscape, early settlement, agriculture, and residential development of Elk River. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase lI Downtown Commercial Area Study 10 Elk River Historic Context Agriculture, 1850-1950 While the development of this county has been retarded, by reason oj: a large amount of land held by speculators, yet, the fertility of the soil has attracted an honest and industrious class of farmers ... Sherburne County, in History of the Upper Mississippi Valley (1880)7 Development of the waterpower on the Elk River was a notable early accomplishment, but flour and sawmill construction took place against the backdrop of agricultural settlement. Early farmers, like millers, were part of an economy that also included fur traders and those prospecting for suitable mill sites and townsites. Within fifteen years after the first farmers settled in Elk River, the railroad provided a wide market for agricultural products. This historic context encompasses the settlement of the first Elk River farm in 1850 through the post- World War II period when the rural population continued its gradual exodus to urban centers. Threshing on the Specht family farm, 1924. Photo MHS. Pioneer Settlement An estimated twenty farms were established in Benton County in 1850, which then included present day Sherburne County? The first migration of Euro-American settlers, many of them potential farmers, was encouraged by treaties that opened lands west of the Mississippi. Many farmers in the Minnesota Territory sought lands along the Root, Zumbro and Elk Rivet' Historic Contexts and Phase [[ Downtown Commercial Area Study 11 Cannon rivers, and along the tributaries of the Upper Mississippi. Early farms were subsistence operations, with farmers supporting their own families with little to trade at market. Improved transportation and new agricultural machinery and techniques expanded the market for farm products, and agricultural ournals and societies assisted farmers in finding the best crops suited to their land. The Benton County Agricultural Society was founded in 1852, the first such County organization in Minnesota. Elk River's Oliver H. Kelley was among the founders. Elk River's first farm was reportedly that established by Silas Lane in 1850.9 Lane claimed acreage in Section 33 that included frontage on the Elk River and a promising mill site. This mill site was immediately noticed by Ard Godfrey and John G. Jameson, and was purchased by them in 1851. In 1855, Godfrey platted the townsite of Orono On a portion of Lane's farm. Lane's claim was followed by Charles M. Donnelly's in Section 32, and those of L.B. Culver and Richard Davis in Section 31. The 1860 census shows that many early Elk River township farmers were natives of Maine, with others from Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and Illinois and a few from New Brunswick, Canada, Ireland, Hamburg and Prussia (Germany). By 1900, more Germans and farmers from Norway and Sweden were represented, but the community's roots were still predominantly from New England. 10 Some early farmers found winter work in the lumber camps of Northern Minnesota and Wisconsin. A nineteenth-century barn and early twentieth- century silo Oll Main Street in 2002. Northeastern Elk River Township in 1903 shows Hungarian fanlily farnls. Atlas of Sherburne County. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Dozontown Commercial Area Study 12 Elk River's Hungarian colony was founded in the 1890s by John, Martin and Andrew Fazekas. Arriving in the United States in 1881, they came to Elk River in the late 1880s where John purchased a farm in Section 10 in the hilly northeastern part of the township. The Farzekas were the first of a substantial group of relatives and friends who settled here, many of whom became dairy farmers.~ Oliver H. Kelley Elk River's best-known farmer was Oliver H. Kelley (1826- 1913). A native of Boston, in 1850, Kelley made a claim at the southeastern edge of the township in Section 14.~2 A leader in fotmding local agricultural societies, he turned to journals to learn new farming methods. In 1867, he founded the National Grange of the Order of the Patrons of Husbandry, an organization that would have one million members by 1875. The Grange was among a number of farmers' protest organizations and movements in the mid-nineteenth century. It was a response to farmer's struggles with new technology and falling market prices for crops and livestock. In addition to its political and fraternal work, the Grange promoted experimental farming and other progressive agricultural practices. Kelle was the author of Ori,in and Pro,ress o the Order of the PatrYons of Husbandry (1875)i{3 The Kelley fam°fily owned the farm until 1901, although Oliver left Minnesota in the late 1860s to pursue Grange activities. The Grange purchased the farm in 1935 and donated it to the Minnesota Historical Society in 1961. The Oliver Kelley House as it looked in 1947. This was the second farmhouse built by Kelley on the site. Photo: MHS. Sherburne County recorded 110 farms in 1860; by 1880 the number rose to 599; to 775 in 1890; 1,054 in 1900; and 1,190 in 1910.~4 (In 1992, the number of farms was 530.) Elk Riw'r Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 13 By 1910, the average Sherburne County farm was 172 acres, considerably larger than Isanti and Anoka and Wright and Hennepin counties, but comparable to Stearnes and other nearby counties. ~s A total of eighty-two percent were operated by owners? In the early twentieth century, however, there was a general downsizing of farms. The total amount of acreage devoted to farms in Sherburne County, which was at 34 percent in 1860, peaked at 55 percent in 19007 During this period, the county's population rose from 490 to 7,281. Elk River and the Potato Sherburne County farmers appear to have followed the general pattern of an initial reliance on wheat cultivation followed by more diversification after the collapse of the wheat market and soil depletion. With improvements in agricultural machinery and the arrival of the railroad, more markets opened for Sherburne County farmers. By 1880, the leading grain crop was wheat, followed by oats, corn, rye, and buckwheat. Potatoes were the leading produce crop, with over 4,000 bushels produced. ~8 The sandy soils of Elk River Township have long favored potato and rye cultivation. In the mid-1880s, a specialized potato district developed north of the Twin Cities, with markets as far as New England and the South. Starch factories were also a by-product of the potato industry. 19 Elk River's production likely followed the trend of the county, where the yield of potatoes rose from 14,290 bushels in 1860 to 963,073 in 1910. In 1910, Sherburne County was a part of the potato belt, but was surpassed by counties such as Anoka (1,255,880 bushels), Chisago (1,874,597) as well as Hennepin (2,438,132), and Isanti (2,150,573).20 The years between about 1906 and 1910 were a boom period for potatoes, with three new warehouses erected in Elk River in 1908, and a second starch factory built in 1910. Photographs from this period show the Elk River depot area packed with potato-laden wagons, ready to load on railcars. Dairying By 1900, many Elk River farmers were operating dairy businesses. The gambrel-roofed barn and complex of silos synonymous with such operations were erected across the township in the early twentieth century. By 1900, there were 5,908 dairy cattle in Sherburne County, a number that increased to 7,258 in 19107 By com arison, Stearnes County boasted 36,272 dairy cattle. TM P Elk River potato warehouse, ca. 1900. Photo: MHS. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Com~nercial Area Study 14 The Nickerson and Houlton farms were among the largest of the local dairy and cattle businesses. In 1878, Henry Nickerson built a farm at 436 3rd Street N.W. Henry was a brother of J.Q. A.Nickerson, who owned much of the original townsite of Elk River. By 1908, W.H. Houlton's 3,000-acre farm at Houlton Siding included "400 head shorthorn of registered stock and sixty angora goats for clearing brush." ,_3 The Elk River Cattle Company owned by Henry C. Hastings had 600 head of cattle? Creameries Two creameries served Elk River's dairy farmers. The first was the Farmer's Coop Creamery of Elk River, a two-story frame building located on Jackson Street north of the railroad. The cooperative was incorporated in 1889. In 1918, the creamery was leased to the Twin City Milk Producers Association, another farmer's cooperative.2s By 1910 the Crescent Creamery of St. Paul also occupied a Main Street location. In 1921, the Twin City Milk Producer's Association built an Elk River facility. Designed by Clarence Wigington of St. Paul, it was located at the entrance to the city on the Jefferson Highway and Main Street. 2~ The association felt that it was an ideal spot for a creamery, with about 350 members in the vicinity. The design of the split-level, brick and tile building was innovative, with gravity systems rather than pumps to move milk and cream. The plant also processed cheese and powdered milk? The creamery closed about 1957, when milk was hauled directly to the Twin Cities for processing. The building was used for City Hall and police offices and also housed a tavern. It was torn down in 1991. Through the twentieth century, much of Elk River's agricultural land has gradually been transformed into residential and commercial use, although Christmas trees and nursery plants have been important new additions to agricultural production. Twin City Milk Producer's Association Creame~j in ca. 1925. Razed. Photo: MHS. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Com~nercial Area Study 15 Its proximity to the metropolitan highway system, particularlv Interstate 94 and upgraded highways 10 and 101 have laced ~e population within commuting distance of the Twin Cities. Cropland acreage fell from 116, 259 in 1967 to 85,600 in 1982 and continues to shrink, with the number of remaining historic farmsteads and other agricultural properties also greatly reduced? Preservation Planning Summary: Agriculture Inventoried Resources Several farmsteads were inventoried in Elk River Township in previous reconnaissance surveys. Within Elk River, the few properties associated with agriculture have been lost to fire or demolition, including the T.C.M.P. creamery (1921), potato warehouses, and related structures. The Oliver H. Kelley Farm was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1966. It was named a National Historic Landmark in 1964. Recommendation(s) 1. Inventory of remaining farmsteads is warranted. Existing survey information does not confirm the number of remaining early farmhouses (ca. 1850- 1880) and other properties related to dairy production and potato cultivation. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 16 Elk River Historic Context: Transportation, 1848-1950 From the time of its earliest permanent Euro-American settlement, Elk River has enjoyed a good location along well- traveled river and land routes. The transportation context extends from the construction of Pierre Bottineau's trading post to the completion of Highway 10 after World War II. The town sites of Orono and Elk River were adjacent to the Red River Trail, an oxcart route used by fur traders that followed the east bank of the Mississippi River between St. Paul and Sauk Rapids and then west along the Sauk River to the Canadian farming region at Pembina. It was in steady use by the time that the Minnesota Territory was organized in 1849.29 Travelers forded the Elk River near its mouth and followed the Mississippi to Sauk Rapids and north. By the mid-1850s, a 150- mile military road was constructed from Point Douglas near Hastings to Fort Ripley, on approximately the same route. Pierre Bottineau is credited with establishing a trading post at the mouth of the Elk River, in what became Orono, or Uppertown. There is no evidence today of the log building erected on Block 2, lots 5 and 6 of the Auditor's Addition to Elk River. (Some accounts credit David Faribault with establishing the post here in 1846, which he reportedly sold to Bottineau.)3° The presence of a trading post and the military road was attractive to those who made the first farm and mill claims in the area. Bottineau, ever on the move, remained long enough to build a hotel south of his trading post in Lowertown, or Elk River. Pierre Bottineau appears in many developing locales in the Minnesota Territory as a trader and speculator. Born in what is now Grand Forks, North Dakota in 1817, he was of French and Ojibwe ancestry. He worked as a guide for Henry Hastings Sibley and the American Fur Company, for army and geological expeditions throughout his career, and as a hunter, trapper, and land speculator and promoter of settlement. About the time he set up the trading post at Elk River he was an investor in the original plat of St. Anthony, and was working as a guide on explorations and hunts. 32 Following the routes of explorers and traders, those seeking good waterpower sites were attracted to the Falls of St. Anthony as well as other places where tributary rivers met the Mississippi. Steamboat and then rail transportation was essential to the distribution of their products. Steamboat traffic above the Fails of St. Anthony was initiated in 1850-51 with the Governor Ramsey, which made the hundred-mile trip between St. Anthony and Sauk Rapids in six hours. 32 Map of General Government Roads in the Territory of Minnesota, September 1854. A saw mill is shown on the Elk River. (MHS) Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 17 Navigable water extended only to Sauk Rapids, except in times of high water. Passengers and freight were carried on the Governor Ramsey, as well as the North Star and H.M. Rice, new boats that began service in 1855. Prone to low seasonal water levels and in poor competition with railroads, regular steamboats were generally discontinued by 1874. However, the Davis Island Boom Company and other lumber interests operated steamboats and a variety of craft for logging operations; the 1900 census for Elk River notes that two young natives of Quebec, John Ward and Humphrey Guane, were among those employed as river drivers. Conflicting with steamboat traffic, the dramatic log drives of timber from the northern pineries were a seasonal event along the river, with the traffic handled by boom companies. Several early ferries shuttling passengers and goods across the Mississippi were attempted in the mid-1850s, but the one established in 1867 by Horatio Houlton appears to have succeeded.33 The 1879 View of Elk River, Sherburne County locates it just behind Horatio Houlton's Sawmill. Another ferry route at the foot of Jackson Street is shown on the 1903 Map of Elk River. The St. Paul and Pacific Railroad The arrival of the St. Paul and Pacific Railroad was an essential connection for Elk River, ensuring continuing success for its mills and early town center, as well as passenger and freight service. The railroad company was forn~ed in 1862 and first built a line from St. Paul to St. Anthony. ~ The line to Elk River was completed in 1864, and reached Sauk Rapids in 1867. 3s The line bypassed the dam and mills at Orono, on a route that allowed a crossing of the Elk River in Big Lake Township. The depot and sidings became the focus of the Lowertown settlement, and when the Elk River townsite was formally platted in 1865 it was oriented toward the railroad and the depot.3~ Ferny at Elk Ri'oer in about 1900. Photo: MHS. The Elk River Depot in 1911 (razed). Photo: MHS. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase I1 Downtown Commercial Area Study 18 The railroad transformed the Elk River economy. In the 1860s, outgoing freight included lumber and lumber products such as shingles, chairs, and wooden shoes, and flour exported to customers as far as Boston. The St. Paul and Pacific was sold to the St. Paul, Minneapolis and Manitoba line in 1879. In 1884 this company built its own line parallel to the St. Paul and Pacific. Subsequently, the company was purchased by the Great Northern Railway Company. 37 A spur served the starch factory on Main Street. The Great Northern operated the parallel tracks as a single railroad. These lines merged into the Burlington Northern in 1970, now the Burlington Northern Santa Fe Railway. In 1886 the St. Paul, Minneapolis and Manitoba (Great Northern) built a line to Princeton connecting to the Minneapolis and St. Cloud Railway to Duluth and Superior. This line incliaded in Houlton Siding, a small station three miles north of Elk River and on the 3,000-acre property of William H. Houlton (1840-1915), one of the area's leading businessmen and political leaders. By 1890, there were ten daily passenger trains stopping at Elk River, in addition to freight and logging trains. Travelers were greeted by a second hotel, the Sherburne House (later known as the Merchant's and the Blanchett). By 1908, this well - advertised hostelry featured thirty rooms, steam heat, and gas lighting, since electrification had not yet reached the town. Both hotels looked like New England boarding houses, with gable roofs, clapboard exteriors, and long porches. Good Roads and Charles M. Babcock The territorial road that connected Minneapolis and St. Paul with St. Cloud passed through Elk River, and was one of the most heavily traveled routes in the state. By 1860, a system of rough township and county roads linked Elk River to Princeton to the north, to Big Lake at the west, and to Anoka and points south.38 Over the next decades, villages, townships and counties labored to improve roads between farms and trade centers. Before a system of state and federally funded roads, much planning for community infrastructure was done by local business leaders. Around the turn of the century, however, electrification and other municipal utilities and road construction were primary topics and the capital and energy once available for road building waned. By the 1890s--on the eve of the introduction of the mass-produced automobile--business leaders and other groups campaigned for better roads under the umbrella of the Minnesota Good Roads Association, founded in 1893.39 In 1898 the Good Roads Act was passed by the state legislature. In 1905, the Minnesota Highway Commission was created to plan local highway improvements and approve the Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 19 design of state-funded projects, including adoption of standards for highway and bridge design. The state leader in highway reform was Charles M. Babcock (1871-1936) of Elk River. Trained as a civil engineer, he had a career as a banker and merchant in Elk River, where his family operated the Babcock Store. In 1917, Babcock became the first commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Highways. He served in this position until 1933, and authored the "Babcock Plan" for the state trunk highway system. Babcock Memorial Park (1938-1939) commemorates his tenure. It was built by the National Youth Administration (NYA) and the Minnesota Department of Highwaysfi° The Jefferson Highway Elk River's connection to the Jefferson Highway, a federally- funded national route completed in the early 1920s, was apparently ensured by Babcock. Among promoters of the concrete-paved road were automobile associations, who had a growing interest in automobile touring? Numbered as Trunk Highway 3, the portion through Elk River used Depot, Main and Fourth streets. The generally followed the territorial route and carried much of the county's west-bound traffic, and also the north-bound traffic on Highway 169, which branched at Elk River. The concrete Elk River Bridge was part of this improvement, replacing the 1884 metal truss bridge. By 1928, a variety of implement dealers, elevators and feed mills, potato and produce warehouses, the Houlton lumberyard, and gasoline filling stations lined the highway. While Sherburne County's road planners were organizing for better roads, some promoters seemed to be waiting for a different transportation shoe to drop. In an article promoting the county's agricultural opportunities, J.A. Monger complained that the county's potential was untapped, noting that this section was overlooked, TIw Jefferson Highzoay on the eve of construction of Highway 10, 1941. Photo: MHS. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 20 owing to the grasping greed of the raihvads to get the long haul and settle up their railroad lands in remote regions of the far Northwest with subsidized land men, who could turn a larger commission for exploiting them, than the fertile acres nearer home. As a result the fertile lands lying between the Twin Cities and the head of the lake have been left to shift for themselves.. Monger and others saw a shipping link to the Gulf of Mexico and the Panama Canal as greatly benefiting Elk River. The author was speculating on the potential of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers to widen and deepen the Upper River. However, these improvements were not made, and river transportation was not revived in the twentieth century. About 1926, Trunk Highway 3 was designated as U.S. Highway 10. In 1942, construction began to widen the highway to four lanes and bypass the center of Elk River. 43 The project was completed in 1948. Somewhat ironically, highway construction razed the Charles Babcock house. It also took the Sherburne County Courthouse lawn, a potato warehouse, and other buildings. In 1969, construction began on a new route for Highway 169 north of Elk River. The Elk River and its Bridges At least four bridges have cOnnected the north and south banks of the Elk River. The first crossing of the Elk River was probably over Ard Godfre~'s dam, which was of simple crib and boulder construction.~A bridge over the Elk River was built in Orono in 1860. ~s In 1886 a steel bridge was erected in the same location as the present bridge. It was erected by the Wrought and Iron Bridge Co. of Canton, Ohio and featured two 128-foot spans. The Hastings Bridge below the sawmill, which collapsed in 1898 shortly after construction, was among several lightweight bridges attempted by mill owners. Elk River roadside development on an unidentified section of Highway 10 in 1950. Photo: MHS. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 21 In 1912, a spring flood washed out much of the dam at Orono and also undermined the flourmill. The mill machinery was sold in 1913 and by 1914 a plan to build a new hydroelectric dam was in place. In 1915 the Elk River Power and Light Company was formed, and on January 20, 1916 the first electricity was produced by two hydro-generators. A new bridge was discussed as an initial part of these dam improvements, but was not constructed. The new concrete bridge was finally completed in 1919 as part of the Jefferson Highway improvement through Elk River. 4~ It was designed by William A. Hewett of Minne.a, polis, a local innovator in reinforced concrete construction? This bridge was replaced in 1993-94. The Highway 10 crossing over the Lake Orono portion of the Elk River was first completed in 1946. A bridge over the Mississippi to Otseg0 W.as opened in 1906. Its replacement was completed in 1985. The steel bridge (1886) over the Elk River in ca. 1925. Photo: MHS. Transportation and Tourism Like many communities in the 1920s, Elk River attempted to attract a new generation of automobile tourists traveling along the Jefferson Highway. An ambitious project to bring visitors to the Camp Cozy resort west of Lake Orono was planned by J.B. Jesperson. The resort owner proposed a winding canal locks, and bridges as well as gardens and a golf course on a 500-acre parcel. Cottages as well as permanent residences were also planned? At least a portion of the original design was completed. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase [[ Downtown Commercial Area Study Preservation Planning Summary: Transportation Inventoried Resources Transportation has played a critical role in the development of Elk River, but few historic properties remain. Several transportation-related structures such as the Elk River Depot were included in previous inventories, but most have been subsequently been razed. All of the historic bridges have been removed, with the Elk River Bridge of 1919 replaced with a new structure in 1993-4. The Babcock Memorial was inventoried as part of the Minnesota Roadside Structures Inventory conducted in 1996. Recommendation(s) 1. Interpretation of the role of early routes and roads through Elk River should be considered as part of new downtown development. Eli,' River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 23 Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 24 Elk River Historic Context: Industry and Commerce, 1851-1950 Elk River's industrial development began with the dam constructed by Ard Godfrey in 1851, and its first stores followed soon thereafter. This historic context extends from 1851 to the construction of Highway 10 after World War II. Babcock Store (ca. 1900). This store stood at the north end of Jackson Street, where Highway 10 is today. Such business blocks often had offices and Masonic halls on the second floor, such as the I.O.O.F shown here. Photo: SCHS. Pioneer Townsites and Indust~j With the construction of a dam and two mills by Ard Godfrey and John G. Jameson in 1851-2, Elk River became the site of the first mills built outside of the St. Anthony Falls and St. Croix waterpower area.49 Hundreds of townsites were platted in Minnesota in the 1850s, laid out and recorded by land speculators and others who hoped to quickly and profitably sell lots. In Sherburne County at least five townsites were recorded between 1855 and 1857, including Orono (1855), Wheeler, (1856), Clear Lake (1856), Groton (1857), Liberty (1857), and Marseilles (1857). so Orono: "Uppertown " The impetus for Orono was its fine mill site on the Elk River, the proximity of the Red River Trail, and a potentially productive timber and agricultural region beyond. Orono was laid out by surveyor John O. Haven for its owner, Ard Godfrey. The plat of Orono was a simple grid of about 14 Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 25 square blocks arranged along the river and Godfrey's dam. Streets were named for Godfrey's wife and daughter, as well as Elk, Merchants, Minnehaha and Hiawatha. si The core of Orono was the six-foot crib and boulder dam. Drawing power from the Elk River, the lumber mill used timber floated down the Mississippi in seasonal log drives. The sawmill was fitted with one sash saw capable of sawing about three thousand feet of lumber per day. Godfrey also opened a general store, as did P.C. Hawes. In addition to the mills and dam, Orono had a post office, a scattering of small frame houses, a cemetery, a schoolhouse built in 1857 that also served as the Sherburne County 'Courthouse, and the Trinity Episcopal Church.s2 By 1857, the population of the settlement reached about 134. Godfrey appears to have been in partnership in the lumber mill with Charles Mansur, an Orono resident who left Minnesota about 1862. s3 Godfrey also sold an interest to Ed Dickey in 1857. By 1880, the property was sold to E.P. Mills and W: H. Houlton, whose lumber business would produce 1,200,000 board feet of lumber by 1880~ Ard Godfrey (1813-?) was born at Orono, Maine and grew up in a family of millwrights. In 1847 he arrived in St. Anthony to work as a millwright for Franklin Steele who was planning the first dam at the falls. (The house Godfrey built in St. Anthony in 1849 still stands.) Throughout his career, Godfrey sought opportunities to develop mill sites and left St. Anthony to briefly return to Maine. At his return he purchased the Orono millsite, made a townsite plan in 1855, and an addition in 1857. However, he does not appear to have permanently resided in Orono, and well before he sold his last mill property about 1863 he devoted himself to his interests in Minneapolis, including his saw mill and grist mill on Minnehaha Creek. s4 Pushing westward, he later built the first sawmill in Montana. ss Godfrey's partner, John G. Jameson, was also a native of Maine. He arrived in Minnesota in 1851. Unlike Godfrey, after the sale of the mill property, he entered farming, which he pursued until his death in 1869.~° By 1899, there were two general stores and a wagon shop still in operation near the dam, in addition to the Elk River Milling Company's flour mill and the W. H. Houlton Lumber Company's sawmill. While Godfrey established the dam and early mills, it was W. H. Houlton's flour and lumber businesses that would persist at this location for several generations, s~ Elk River: "Lowertown' The arrival of the railroad encouraged growth downriver on the Mississippi in what was known as Lowertown. The new town site of Elk River was platted in 1865, then replatted in 1868, and incorporated in 1880-817 The original plat was made by O.E. Garrison for J. Q. A Nickerson. The incorporation included the townsite of Orono. Interest in the Mississippi and The mill village in Orono in 1879. From tlw View of Elk River, Sherburne County (1879). Published ~t J. J. Stoner, Madison, Wisconsin. Godfrey' s saw mill was on the south bank of the river and the flour mill was on the north bank. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 26 Elk River area as a location for commerce began in the 1850s, with Pierre Bottineau's two-story Riverside Hotel. Built next to an early log cabin that remained on the site for many years, Bottineau sold the hotel to J.Q.A. Nickerson and Nickerson's brother Henry subsequently owned it. An advertisement of March 25, 1853 in the St. Anthony Express may have referred to this property. It described a large tavern, store building, dwelling and a barn and stables. The building burned in 1907. (It is now the site of the First National Bank of Elk River.) The Riverside Hotel in ca. 1900. Photo: MHS. View of Elk River, Sherburne County (1879).Published by J.J. Stoner, Madison, Wisconsin. Orono is at far right; the original business district of Elk River is just below the railroad tracks. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 27 ELK Ri YE R Elk River. Atlas of Sherburne County (1903). Orono is at left; the Elk River townsite and its additions occupy the central and right portions of the'map. The original townsite plat of Elk River was like those of many railroad towns, where the streets straddled the trackage and provided depot, warehouse, store, and hotel sites. The two- block commercial district was centered on State Street facing the tracks. An 1879 bird's eye view of Elk River shows the collection of frame buildings, most with boom-town facades (a usually squared-off and sometimes ornate front applied to a smaller gable-roofed building). By the 1890s, there were about twenty businesses in the area, including the Norval and Wheaton general store, Baltzell Furniture, A.N. Dare's newspaper office, Peter Moeger's tailor shop, the Heebner and- Babcock general store, J.M Crockett's tin and hardware store, and the Lewis and Crawford drug stores. The Bank of Elk River, a G.A.R. Hall, a Music Hall and a roller rink completed the area. The Sherburne House, a railroad hotel was built in 1867 on the south side of the railroad tracks. It was subsequently enlarged and renamed the Merchant's and later the Blanchett Hotel. Elk River has had at least four major business district fires. In 1887 a fire destroyed Uppertown mills and businesses. In 1898 thirteen buildings were destroyed on State Street. Subsequently businesses located closer to the river at Main and Princeton (now Jackson) streets. Here, an open market square on a wedge-shaped block was eventually improved into a public park with a few trees and a wooden paviliondating Elk River Historic Contexts and PImse II Downtown Commercial Area Study 28 from 1917. This space is now called Jackson Square and is a parking lot. The park was framed by a block of masonry buildings on Jackson Street, most erected around 1898 and then rebuilt after another fire in 1903. Another fire in 1914 destroyed four stores on Main Street including the building housing the post office. The earliest remaining downtown building appears to be the J.H. Romdenne Drugstore at the corner of Jackson and Main (now the Sunshine Depot). However, the exterior of the two- story brick structure has been completely modernized. Between ca. 1898 and 1920, two blocks of Main Street parallel to the river developed with a modest mix of one and two-story brick buildings housing a variety of businesses. After about 1914, Main Street also attracted a new generation of automotive dealers and service garages, gradually replacing liveries and blacksmiths. The Elk Theatre, Sherburne County Farm Bureau, and furniture and general stores were among early tenants on Main Street. A variety of automotive buildings and a new theater (1947) were among additions between ca. 1920 and 1950. Like periodic fires, highway construction remade downtown Elk River. The construction of the Jefferson Highway by the early 1920s, and the Highway 10 bypass in the 1940s demolished a number of downtown landmarks. The present alignment of Highway 10 also encroached on the northern end of Jackson Street. The Houlton Block and Jackson Street, ca. 1910. Photo: MHS. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 29 In addition to the parking lot, other d0~vntown changes since the 1970s include a variety of alterations or remodelings to the exterior of historic commercial-buildings. The alterations are most extensive on Main Street between Jackson and King streets. It is not known how much original historic fabric remains behind the wood screens and other new facades applied over the original brick. Early Trade Early merchants were a small and generally persistent group, with several families such as Houlton, Wheaton, Babcock, Dare and Nickerson providing dry goods and services over several decades. The Bank of Elk River established in 1885 was the first in Sherburne County. The incorporators were W.L. Babcock, Henry Castle, and W. H. Houlton. The Houltons were among families who combined mercantile interests with lumber, banking, farming and politics. This business core served as promoters of the town, creating business associations and campaigning for improvements that sustained the community, such as telephone service, electric power, and roads. This was especially important in the early twentieth century, as the decline of industries such as milling demanded that the town develop as a healthy trade center for the surrounding agricultural hinterland. The publication of thd Elk River Souvenir (1901) and special booster features in local and regional newspapers were part of business leaders' efforts to enlarge the market. Jackson Street, 2002. The Houlton Block is at far left. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 30 Local newspapers were important to the community's success. The Sherburne County Weekly was published ca. 1869-70. The Sherburne County Star and the Elk River Weekly were inaugurated in 1875. In 1882, Arthur N. Dare purchased both papers as the Sherburne County Star News. The steel bridge and the Elk River Milling Company flour mill ca. 1910. Photo: SCHS. Industrial Development after Ard Godfrey Spurred by the agricultural economy, the northern Minnesota lumber boom, and an expanding population, Elk River's small flour and lumber milling industry prospered for many decades. Saw milling was the leading manufacturing activity, sustaining local companies and employees from 1851 into the early twentieth century. Flour and starch production also contributed to early industrial activity, with both active into the early twentieth century. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 31 The 1870 Federal Census reported six industrial concerns in Elk River: Firm Name Business Capital Invested Hou|ton and Nickerson Saw Mill ($30,000) George Crocker Blacksmith ($1,000) Eddy Dickey Carriages ($600) Galley and Baltzell Furniture ($1,000) John G. Jameson Blacksmith ($300) Mills and Gardner Flour Mill ($20.000) H. Houlton Saw Mill ($25,000) Mills and Houlton Saw Mill ($7,000) Mills and Houlton Flour Mill ($50,000) George Crocker Blacksmith ($100) Eddy Dickey Carriages ($ 600) Henry Galley Chairs ($1,000) John G. Jameson Blacksmith ($300) By 1880, the early mills had been enlarged or replaced. The census reported the following industries: Featherston and Co. ($3,000) Heebner and Co. ($1,000) Baltzell and Son ($600) John M. Crockett ($500) John G. Jameson ($ 3,000) Thomas and Squires ($10o) Cooper shop Tin and Ironware Furniture Maker Tin and Ironware Blacksmith and Carriages Blacksmith Shop Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Conlmercial Area Study 32 Sawmills Mills and Houlton Lumber Mill In Uppertown, Mills and Houlton's Lumber Mill on the site of the former Godfrey Mill produced a variety of lath, single, or sawn lumber. The saw and planning mill was later W.H. Houlton and Company. With 60 workers by 1900, it was Elk River's largest employer, s9 While the steam or water-powered planing mill remained on the Elk River, in 1868 Houlton built a new steam-powered sawmill on the Mississippi (see photo below). Its log elevator, which conveyed the logs from the river into the mill, was a distinctive feature of the structure. In Lowertown, a planing mill was built in 1873 by Thomas S. and W. C. Nickerson. One early resident remembered of the Uppertown mill that north of this mill was a 'city of Iumberpiles' with long narrow sh'eets and what seemed to us in those days to be regular skyscrapers of lumber on each side. At the northwest side of the yard were the piles of slab wood ready for deIive~aj to people in town. When the mill closed and the lumber yard was finally abandoned there was still a large pile of kindling wood there and for many years local people could go there and dig up slabs.' oo This mill bumed in1887 in the fire that spread to the chair factory and various sheds and elevators. Tire Houlton saw mill on the Mississippi. Undated view. Photo: MHS. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase [I Downtown Co~nmercial Area Study 33 Flour Mill The flour mill is one of the institutions Elk River is proud of and it is gratifying to know that it is doing a profitable business. Sherburne County Star, December 16, 1897. Godfrey's flour mill in Uppertown burned in 1868, and the firm of Mills and Houlton rebuilt it as a three-story frame flour mill with a two hundred barrel per-day capacity. The Elk River Milling Company (with W.H. Houlton, Henry Castle, and W. G. Babcock as officers) produced a high grade of flour sold to Eastern and European markets.6x The mill burned in 1902. The property was sold and in 1907, a new four-story, 300-barrell capacity mill was erected by John Hill and Charles Hartwell of Massachusetts. During a May 1912 flood, the new flourmill was undermined, along with the dam and bridge. The Massachusetts buyers had failed to pay the mortgage and were foreclosed in the same month that the dam broke, returning ownership to Elk River interests. 62 Starch and Box Factories Starch factories manufactured potato starch and provided Elk River area farmers with another market for their produce. A factory was opened in 1890 by T.S. Nickerson, and another in 1910 by C.H. Caley. About 1914 a factory was founded to manufacture boxes for market crops. Grain Elevators Tine Graves and Bailey Grain Elevator was constructed in 1922 on the Jefferson Highway opposite Oak Street. It replaced O.J. Whitman's feed mill on the same site. Adjacent to potato and coal warehouses and the Northern Pacific Freight House, it appears to be at least a portion of the structure at this location today. Another elevator owned by the Elk River Milling Company was located across the tracks to the north. Flour milling on the Elk River apparently ended with the devastating flood of 1912, and saw milling closed with the Houlton planing mill fire in 1923. This reflected the general demise of flour and lumber industries in centers such as Minneapolis and Stillwater, but some early businesses have persisted through changes of ownership to the present time, as mills in Northfield and Hastings can attest. In Elk River as in other river towns, mill owners acquired considerable wealth and were influential citizens. While Ard Godfrey had only a speculative interest in Elk River, the Houlton and Nickerson families were engaged in milling and banking for several generations. Graves and Bailey Grain EIet~ator, Highway 10. Photo 2002. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 34 William H. Houlton (1840-?) was a native of Houlton, Maine. 63 His family settled in Monticello, Wright County in 1856. After the Civil War William and his older brother Horatio operated a general store in Elk River. In 1873 he purchased a share of the flour and saw mills originally built by Ard Godfrey. As noted, his business evolved into the Elk River Milling Company and his lumber interest as the W. H. Houlton Co. Houlton also owned over 3,000 acres of farmland and was active in Minnesota politics. In 1885 he was among founders of the Bank of Elk River, and sold his interest to W.L. Babcock and Henry Castle in 1899. In 1896 Houlton and Babcock opened a real estate agency. ~ In1907 Houlton established the First National Bank of Elk River, which was housed in the Houlton Building at Jackson and Main streets. William's brother Horatio Houlton (1834-?) farmed in Monticello before operating a train to bring Hudson Bay goods from St. Cloud to the Red River. In addition to operating a general store with his brother William, Horatio opened an Elk River sawmill and expanded his lumber interests in St. Paul and West St. Paul. John Quincy A. Nickerson (1825-?) was the first of his family to play a leading role in the development of local industry. Nickerson was a native of Maine and arrived in Elk River in 1853. He was in the lumber business until the 1870s, and also operated a hotel and a general store, and was in the lumber business until the 1870s. Electrification and Water Supply In these days of advancement and progress, electricity is the key to success and is constantly coming into more general use, not only in the larger cities and towns, but in nearly all the smaller communities as well. Without electricity a city or town cannot expect to keep up with its rivals, but is sure to remain stagnant, while its more enterprising neighbors continue to grow. Sherburne County Star, July 2, 1914, p. 1. Electrification Was well underway in small Minnesota towns by 1912, and with its waterpower resource, city leaders were frustrated that the city had no generating plant. In 1914, F.D. Waterman founded the Elk River Power and Light Company. A new 250-foot reinforced concrete dam powered by a 40-inch waterwheel and a 150-kilwatt generator was built. A concrete and brick powerhouse measuring 30' x 30' was located on the east end of the dam. In 1915, a contract for an electrical distribution and street lighting system for was awarded to Sterling Electric. 6~ Private wells served Elk River before a municipal water system was installed. The present downtown water tower dates from 1920. It was manufactured by the Minneapolis Steel and Machinery Company. Elk River Historic Contexts and Plmse II Downtown Commercial Area Study 35 In 1951 a coal and oil burning plant was built by the Rural Co- operative Power Association to generate energy for northern and central Minnesota. Construction of a nuclear reactor began in 1958 and the first electricity was generated in 1963. The plant was decommissioned in 1968. Today the Great River Energy Corporation operates a refuse burning power plant at the site. Today gravel and concrete businesses are important Elk River industries. Large gravel pits are operating in sections 10, 15, and 16. Preservation Planning Summary: Commerce and Industry Inventoried Resources Previous inventories have not documented much of the industrial and commercial history of Elk River. The current Phase II study of the commercial district inventoried 23 commercial properties. There appear to be no standing structures associated with mills, but remnants of dams, foundations, and other structures reportedly remain at the edges of the Elk and Mississippi rivers. These remains are primarily submerged. The one remaining grain and feed elevator on Highway 10 is a significant feature of the early twentieth century transportation and agricultural history of the city. Recommendation(s) 1. Conduct an inventory of commercial properties north of Highway 10. Early millsites on the Elk and Mississippi rivers should also be documented. 2. Wherever possible, retain and rehabilitate Elk River's remaining historic commercial and industrial buildings. As a starting point, the Heritage Preservation Commission can recommend properties and districts eligible for local designation according to criteria in the Elk River Heritage Preservation Ordinance. Design guidelines can assist in reviewing proposals for alterations to designated properties, as well as new construction within historic districts. Rttral Co-operative Power Association at Elk River in 1960. Photo: MHS. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase [l Downtown Commercial Area Study 36 Elk River Historic Context: Residential Architecture, 1851-1930 The residential architecture historic context encompasses the first log buildings of the pioneer settlement and extends to the creation of housing in Elk River before the Depression. The small building that served as Pierre Bottineau's trading post and residence was built of log, as were a number of the first temporary shelters built by farmers. A manuscript map of Meadowvale (on file at the Sherburne County Historical Society) records at least six in that vicinity. The St. Anthony Express of March 3, 1852 recorded a trip in the Elk River vicinity, and noted the existence of a number of log houses including those owned by Ard Godfrey. 1414 Main Street. This small frame house is typical of those of early Orono. Although a modern entrance and picture window have been added, the building retains much of its original character. Photo 2002. A limited amount of lumber was locally available to settlers in the early 1850s and was used for dwellings, farm buildings, and stores. The first generation of houses in the mill and railroad villages of Orono and Elk River reflect the New England origins of the community, with a preference for frame construction. B.F. Snow, an early resident, wrote that his house "was 16' x 24' in size.., nearly all the houses in this county at that time were built the same size, for the reason that the lumber which we bought at the mill was 16 feet in length ... so there was no waste in lumber and saved considerable time in sawing." ~ The gable-roofed, Greek Revival style houses were one or two stories, with a porch carried by square posts. The 1860 census noted two local carpenters, 36-year old George Davis, a native of New York, and William Adams, a 25-year old Canadian. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Comnwrcial Area Study 37 The Charles Mansur House at 1808 Main Street, built in ca. 1856-1860 (not pictured), is thought to be the oldest extant dwelling in Elk River. Mansur was a native of Ohio and worked as a sawyer in the Godfrey sawmill. The streets of Uppertown were built with a number of buildings like the Mansur House. Although many of the exteriors have been modernized, their symmetrical proportions, low-pitched gable roofs, and regularly- spaced windows are keys to their likely date of construction. Early Elk River farmhouses were likely much the same, although there are none known to be extant. An early view of the first house built by Oliver H. Kelley in Section 14 shows the Greek Revival style and clapboard exterior typical of pre-Civil War farmhouses. Despite his wealth and standing in the community, W. H. Houlton did not build an elaborate residence. As illustrated in the Elk River Souvenir in 1901, the large, .two-story Italianate house had a simple roofline and a one-story wing. After the Civil War, and with the growth of a small class of prosperous merchants and millers, a few houses of more architectural pretension were erected. Italianate and Gothic Revival style houses were popularized by a variety of publications that could be copied by local carpenters. Frame rather than brick was chosen for most construction. In the 1880s, a Queen Anne Style house was erected by Henry Castle at a cost of $3,000.67 His clapboard and shingle-clad house with much turned work boasted what were noted in the local press as "devil points" in the cresting at the roofline. Castle pumped interior water from a private tower shared with three neighbors. Frank T. White House in 1981. Photo: MHS. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 38 Frank T. White (1866-1947) built one of Elk River's most impressive houses at 1135 Main Street. An attorney, politician, and real estate developer, White chose a desig-n from the Radford Plan Company of Chicago. The Colonial Revival design was built in 190g on a large lot overlooking the Elk River. It is one of several notable houses in the Houlton Addition to Elk River. In the early twentieth century there were many unbuilt lots remaining from the original townsite plans of Orono and Elk River. Among popular styles for new infill houses were the simple foursquare cube, and the Arts and Crafts bungalow. The development of Manor Place on the Mississippi riverbank in the early 1920s included several stylish Period Revival houses, including one for banker Charles Bade. After World War II, a variety of one-story ramblers were constructed on empty lots in central Elk River. The rambler was often the house type chosen to replace older farmhouses in the township. With the beginnings of non-farm construction along newly laid-out cul-de-sacs off Highway 77 and 13, the rambler and its variations were built in greater number. At the same time, many older houses were remodeled with aluminum and vinyl siding and stucco or brick facades, with a loss of historic character. In recent years, some Elk River property owners have restored such houses to their historic appearance with good results. Preservation Planning Summary: Residential Architecture Inventoried Resources Only nine non-farm residential properties are currently included in the State Historic Preservation Office database. Recommendation(s) Conduct a complete inventory of residential properties throughout the city. The survival of early Orono and Elk River townsite houses should be carefully documented. Encourage the conservation of all of Elk River's historic buildings and particularly the original houses of the Orono and Elk River townsites. The Heritage Preservation Commission should identify residential properties eligible for local designation. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Conllnercial Area Study 39 Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 40 Elk River Historic Context, Schools, Churches, Cemeteries, and Local Institutions, 1854-1920 Elk River School, ca. 1900. Photo: MHS. In Elk River, local and county government created a collection of buildings typical of nearly all settlements of its size. In addition to schools and the county courthouse, private masonic organizations such as the I.O.O.F. (International Order of Foresters) also occupied space in business blocks. This context covers the period when most of the community's schools, churches, and other institutions and organizations were founded. Schools Elk River's first public school was organized in 1854. Classes were held in the Orono home of Mrs. Bean, a local resident. A schoolhouse was built in 1857. With the shift of population to the new village of Elk River, a one-room frame schoolhouse was erected there in 1868. A new four- room school was subsequently built on Thomas Street between Main and Depot streets. It burned in 1882 and was replaced with a five-room school on the same site. The Italianate style building had two hip-roofed wings and paired segmental-arched windows. A later addition was made to the rear. A tall bell tower rested atop the central bay. 68 The school block included a small pond set in a deep bowl. The pond was filled for an athletic field in 1921-22. By 1926 a regulation football field and running track were installed. In 1939-40 the National Youth Administration hired local workers to construct stone retaining walls, a warming house, and tarred path to the floor of the stadium. The Elkhi Stadium was dedicated in 1940. It has continued to serve as a spot for sliding and skating. 69 A two-story brick high school was completed on this block in 1929-30. It is now an elementary school. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Com~nercial Area Study 41 Union Church, 1118 Fourth Street N.W. (1881). Photo 2002. Churches Elk River's New England roots were reflected in the founding of the first churches as well as fraternal organizations and societies. The first congregation in Sherbume County was the Trinity Episcopal Church and its first building was erected in the late 1850s at 1915 Second Street. ?0 The structure was moved to Elk River in 1877. The present building at 1326 Fourth Street N.W. dates from 1890-1. The United Christian Society of Elk River was organized ca. 1866, and the Union Church ca. 1875. The present Union Church building at 1118 Fourth Street N.W. was erected in 1881. It was designed and built by W.F. Chadbourne of Elk River. The memorial windows were dedicated in 1923. TM The Meadowvale Church in Elk River Township was a branch of this congregation; it was organized in ca. 1920. The Methodist Episcopal Church was founded in 1875. The congregation met in the Orono schoolhouse until a church was built north of the railroad tracks in 1889. A new church was erected in 1916 along the Jefferson Highway near Minnesota Street. 72_ The Emmanuel German Lutheran Church was organized in 1918. The congregation purchased the former Methodist Church. Services were initially held in German and English; one German service per month was still held in the late 1930s. The Norwegian Lutheran Church was organized in 1933 with about nineteen charter members. The congregation originally rented the Episcopal Church for services, with each congregation meeting several times per month. Services were initially offered in both Norwegian and English. Elk Rivet' Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 42 St. Andrew's Roman Catholic Church was organized about 1890. The first church building was a simple frame structure. A new building was begun in 1921 and the congregation occupied the basement for a number of years until a new structure was completed. Cemeteries There are four historic cemeteries in Elk River· Orono Cemetery was established in 1855 on a small peninsula on the south side of Lake Orono. Vernon Cemetery was established ca. 1855 in section 34, two blocks west of Evans Street on Railroad Drive. St. Andrew's Catholic Cemetery dates from ca. 1899. It is located at 193r~ Avenue and Highway 169 in Section 27. Meadowvale Cemetery is located on County Road 32 in Section 6, partially in Livonia Township. Sherburne County Courthouse When Sherburne County was created from Benton County in 1856, the first seat was at Humboldt, later known as Big Lake. There was no permanent courthouse and business was transacted in private homes and schoolhouses. In 1867, Orono became the county seat, and the schoolhouse was used for county purposes. In 1877 a new courthouse was completed on Oak Street between Main and Depot streets. The two-story, hipped-roof frame building was designed by W.C. Warner and built by Horatio Houlton, an Elk River contractor. The design included a bracketed square tower with a pyramidal roof rising over the entry. A new courthouse was erected in 1970. The historic building was razed in 1995. Fraternal organizations and societies met in a variety of buildings. Masonic, Fraternal, and Other Organizations Many local organizations were created in the late nineteenth century and met in private homes as well as in meeting rooms in downtown business blocks· Two early organizations are of note. The Grand Lodge was organized in 1872. The temperance convictions of early settlers were reflected in the 1877 organization of the Temperance Murphy Club. The group campaigned against saloons and liquor consumption. The Sherburne County Courthouse in 1981. Photo: MHS. Razed. Preservation Planning Summary: Schools, Churches, Cemeteries and Local Institutions Inventoried Resources There are two churches listed on the State Historic Preservation Office database. Recommendations Inventory all nineteenth and early twentieth-century churches. Encourage the conservation of Elk River's historic churches, cemeteries, and related properties. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 43 Preservation Planning Summaries The following recommendations were included with the previous historic contexts. Landscape Settin? Recommendation 1. Continue to research and interpret the relationship between the natural landscape, early settlement, agriculture, and residential development of Elk River. Agriculture Recommendation 1. Inventory of remaining farmsteads is warranted. Existing survey information does not confirm the number crf remaining early farmhouses (ca. 1850- 1880) and other properties related to dairy production and potato cultivation. Transportation Recommendation 1. Interpretation of the role of early routes and roads through Elk River should be considered as part of new downtown development. Industry_ and Commerce Recommendations 1. Conduct an inventory of commercial properties north of Highway 10. Early mill sites on the Elk and Mississippi rivers should also be documented. 2. Wherever possible, retain and rehabilitate Elk River's remaining historic commercial and industrial buildings. As a starting point, the Heritage Preservation Commission can recommend properties and districts eligible for local designation according to criteria in the Elk River Heritage Preservation Ordinance. Design guidelines can assist in reviewing proposals for alterations to designated properties, as well as new construction within historic districts. Residential Architecture Recommendations 1. Conduct a complete inventory of residential properties throughout the city. The survival of early Orono and Elk River townsite houses should be carefully documented. 2. Encourage the conservation of all of Elk River's historic buildings and particularly the original houses of the Orono and Elk River townsites. The Heritage Preservation Commissionshould identify residential properties eligible for local designation. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study Schools, Churches, Cemeteries and Local Institutions Recommendations 1. Inventory nineteenth- and early twentieth-century churches. 2. Encourage the conservation of Elk River's historic churches, cemeteries and related properties. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 45 No tes ~See U.S. Department of the Interior, National Park Service, National Register Bulletin # 15. 2See Historic Preservation, Field Services and Grants Depart~nent 2001 Annual Report. (St. Paul: Minnesota Historical Society, 2001), 20. ~Thomas F. Waters, The Streams and Rivers o. fMinnesota (Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 1977), 213. 4 Warren Upham, Minnesota Geographic Names: Their Origins and Historic Significance (St. Paul: Minnesota Historical Society, reprint edition, 1969), 514. s N.H. Winchell, History of the Upper Mississippi Valley (Minneapolis: Minnesota Historical Society, 1881), 296. ~"Complete Unique Engineering Project at Camp Cozy." Sherburne County Star News 11 May 1925. ?Sherburne County Star News 15 Aug. 1907. ~ Winchell, 294. ~Edward Robinson, Early Economic Conditions and the Development of Agriculture in Minnesota (Minneapolis: University of Minnesota, 1915), 43. ~ Winchell, 296. ~"1860 and 1900 Federal Census of Population. ~ "Pioneering of Three Brothers Brought Hungarian Settlement.' Sherburne County Star News 28 May 1936; "Hungarian Farms Unique in Nation," Elk River Star News 2 Feb 1994. ~ See Thomas Woods, Knights of the Plow: Oliver H. Kelley and the Origins of the Grange in Republican Ideology (Ames, Iowa: Iowa State Press, 1991). ~4 Robinson, 219. ~ Robinson, 219. ~ Robinson, 222. v Robinson, 249-249. ~ Winchell, 296. ~ Robinson, 111. - Robinson, 260-69. 2~ Robinson, 277. -- Robinson, 276-79. -'~ "Elk River Has Unlocked the Door of Opportunity," Sherburne County Star News, undated clipping ca. 1908. '-~ Souvenir of Elk River, Minnesota (Minneapolis: Wall & Haines, 1901, n.p). 2.~ The building was razed in 1971 for a new fire station. '-~ Clarence Wigington was the state's first African-American architect. See David Vassar Taylor and Paul Clifford Larson, Cap Wigington (St. Paul: Minnesota Historical Society Press, 2002). -'~ "New Plant of T. CM.P.A. at Elk River Opens. "Twin City Milk Producer's Bulletin, May, 1921. '-~ SCHS subject files. - Rhoda R. Gilman, Carolyn Gilman, and Deborah M. Stultz, The Red River Trails: Oxcart Routes Between St. Paul and the Selkirk Settlement (St. Paul: Minnesota Historical Society, 1979), 279. ~' Some sources such as W.H.C. Folsom (1881) credit David Faribault with erecting the first house at this site in 1846, but is not mentibned bY Winchell (1881). According to Folsom, H.M. RiCe and S.P. Folsom purchased Faribault's improvements (p. 453). In his account, Faribault built the log cabin that was later sold to Pierre Bottineau." ~ By 1852 Bottineau was in northern Hem~epin County, where he claimed land on Bottineau's prairie near present-day Brooklyn Park and Osseo; in 1857 he platted the townsite of Breckenridge, the county seat of Wilkin County~ He died in Red Lake Falls, Polk County, in 1895. See SCHS subject files. ~ SCHS subject files. ~3 Winchell, 297. The Map o. fElk River (1903) shows the ferry route. 34 See "Completion to Elk River," St. Paul Daily Pioneer, 4 Nov. 1864, p. 1. ~s SCHS subject files. See also the St. Paul and Pacific Railway Company, Histories and Related Papers, Northern Pacific Railway Collection at the Minnesota Historical Society. 3~ Augustus J. Veenendaal, Jr. The Saint Paul & Pacific Railroad: An Empire in the Making, 1862-1879 (DeKalb, Illinois: Northern Illinois University, 1999). ~ See Norene Roberts, "St. Paul and Pacific Railroad Depot National Register of Historic Places Inventory Form," Statement of Significance, 12/15/84, p. 1. On file, State Historic Preservation Office. 3~ Sherburne County, Minnesota Historical Records Survey Project. Division of Professional and Service Projects, Work Projects Administration (Saint Paul, Minn.: The Project, 1940), 17. 3~ Arthur J. Larsen, The Development of the Minnesota Road S~lstem (St. Paul: Minnesota Historical Society, 1966), 175. '~ SCHS subject files. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 46 ~ See Gemini Research, 'MNDOT Historic Roadside Development Structures Inventory SH-ERC-028," 10/31/96. On file at Minnesota State Historic Preservation Office. 4_, Larsen, 447-468. 43 J.A. Monger, "Elk River has Unlocked the Door of Opportunity," Sherburne Coun~ £~ar Nezt,~, undated ca. 1908 clipping, SCHS subject files. 44 See Gemini Research, Phase I and II Investigation of Historic Structures Along T.H. 10 at Bailey, Sherbume County, Minnesota." Submitted to the Minnesota Department of Transportation S.P. 7102-100 (T.H. 10), April 4, 2001. On file at Minnesota State Historic Preservation Office. See sections 3.2-3.3 for a discussion of the road's impact on Bailey's Station. 4s Jack Klein, "History of Lake Orono,' undated m,'muscript, 2/22/90, p. 2. See also Klein, "Bridge Demolition Reveals Another Piece of History," Elk River Star News 9 Dec 1992. Klein reports that when the 1920 bridge was demolished in 1992, the logs from Godfrey's dam were visible, as were the one-inch square metal spikes. Klein also reported that the boulders included "fiver-washed rocks, quarried granite blocks, and handcut sandstone." See SCHS subject files. WPA, 17. 46 Minnesota Historical Records Survey Project, 17. 47 Jeffrey A. Hess, "Elk River Bridge (HAER No. MN-54).' Historic American Engineering Survey Documentation. Prepared by Hess, Roise and Company for the City of Elk River, April 1992. On file at Minnesota State Historic Preservation Office. 4~ Hess, 9-10. ~ "Complete Unique Engineering Project at Camp Cozy." Star News 11 May 1925. so For a general overview of this topic see Robert Frame, Millers to the World: Minnesota's Nineteenth-Century Water Power Flour Mills (Saint Paul: Minnesota: Mirmesota Historical Society, Division of Field Services, Historic Sites, and Archaeology, 1977). s~ Minnesota Historical Records Survey Project, 17. s2 In addition to Pierre Bottineau's exploration of the area, trader David Faribault was reportedly camped in the vicinity. ~'~ Jack Klein, "History of the Sawmill at Orono (Elk River), Minnesota." Undated manuscript, SCHS subject files. s~ Jack Klein, "History of the Sawmill at Orono (Elk River) Minnesota." ss Jack Klein, "History of the Sawmill at Orono (Elk River) Minnesota." ~ J. Fletcher Williams, History of Hennepin County (Minneapolis: North Star Publishing Co., 1881), 552. s7 Winchell, 304. s8 Winchell, 296-97. s~ Winchell, 297. ~0 SCHS subject files. 6~ "Memories of Other Days in Elk River: the Houlton Sawmill." Sherburne County Star News, 15 June 1933. 62Souvenir, n.p. ~"Flour Mill by September," Elk River Star Neu~s, 9 May 1907. 6~Winchell, 303. 6SCynthia SeeLhammer and Mary Jo Mosher, eds. The G~vwth of Sherburne County, 1875-1975. Becker, Minnesota: Sherbume County Historical Society, 1982), 96, 99. 68Sherburne Counhd Star News, Oct (?) 1915. See also Sherburne County Star News 28 Oct 1920. 6~"History of the Family of BOnjamin Snow," in Mary Jo Allen, The Heath Family of Massachusetts, Maine, and Minnesota (Woodbury, Minnesota: privately printed, 2002), 180, 214. 68 Seelhammer, 66. 6~ Sherburne County, Minnesota Historical Records Project, 15. 70 Elkhi Stadium subject file, SCHS. ?0 Winchell, 298. 7~Sherburne County Star News, 23 July 1931. ~Sherburne County Star Nmos, 23 July 1931. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 47 Bibliography Allen, Mary J. The Heath Family of Massachusetts, Maine and Minnesota. Woodbury, Minnesota: privately printed, 2002. Atlas and Farm Directory with Complete Survey in Township Plats, Sherburne County, Minnesota. St. Paul: Webb Publishing Company, 1914. Folsom, W.H.C. Fifty Years in the Northwest. St. Paul: Pioneer Publishing Company, 1881. Gilman, Rhoda R., Carolyn Gilman, and Deborah M. Stultz. The Red River Trails: Oxcart Routes Between St. Paul and the Selkirk Settlement. St. Paul: Minnesota Historical Society, 1979. Hess, Jeffrey A. "Elk River Bridge (HAER No. MN-54).' Historic American Engineering Survey Documentation. Prepared by Hess Roise and Co. for the City of Elk River, April 1992. Larsen, Arthur J. The Development of the Minnesota Road System. St. Paul: Minnesota Historical Society, 1966. Minnesota Historical Records Survey Project, Sherburne County. Division of Professional and Service Projects, Work Projects Administration. St. Paul, Minnesota: 1940. Plat Book of Sherburne County, Minnesota. Minneapolis: Northwest Publishing Company, 1903. Robinson, Edward. Early Economic Conditions and the Development of Agriculture in Minnesota. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota, 1915. Seelhammer, Cynthia, and Mary J. Mosher, eds. The Growth of Sherburne County, 1875-1975, As Seen Through Local Newspapers. Becker, Minnesota: Sherburne County Historical Society, 1980. Souvenh' of Elk River, Minnesota. Minneapolis: Wall and Haines, 1901. Subject files. Sherburne County Historical Society, Becker, Minnesota. Elk River and related topics. Upham, Warren. Minnesota Geographic Names. St. Paul: Minnesota Historical Society, 1969. Veenendaal, Thomas Jr. The Saint Paul and Pacific Railroads: An Empire in the Making, 1862-1879. DeKalb, Illinois: Northern Illinois University, 1999. Waters, Thomas F. The Streams and Rivers of Minnesota. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 1977. Winchell, N. H., et. al. History of the Upper Mississippi Valley. Minneapolis: Minnesota Historical Company, 1881. Woods, Thomas. Knights of the Plow: Oliver H. Kelley and the Origins of the Grange in Republican Ideology. Ames, Iowa: Iowa State Press, 1991. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 48 * User Name: TINA (47) Queue: ELKRIVER/850RICOH_Q ~ File Name: Server: 850RICOH * Directory: * Description: Elk River Inventory 49-76 F.Copy: 1 of 1 * Date: 07-26-2002 Time: 10:43:03 ***************~********************************************************~***** * * # # ## # # # * # # #### # * # # #### # * # # # ## # # * # ### # # # # * * * # # # # * # # # ## * # ### # ## * # # # * # # # ## * Par~ Two Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study Elk River, Minnesota Main Street from King Street, looking southeast to Jackson Street, ca. 1910. The Oddfellows Block (I.O.O.F.) at middle left'is no longer standing, but many of the other buildings in this photo remain. SCHS photo. Elk River seems to be peculiarly unfortunate in the matter of fires for a town o, fits size, for besides three disastrous conflagrations in recent years it has in the course o/tits history lost by fire two flouring mills, two or three saw mills, planing factory and adjacent machine shop, two large stores and several smaller ones at upper town, a brick school house and numerous residences. Introduction Sherburne County Star News clipping, ca. 1902. Elk River's commercial architecture over the past 150 years has been of generally simple and utilitarian character. In the 1850s, Ard Godfrey and other early business owners built small frame stores near the Elk River dam. By 1900, several two-story brick blocks near the railroad depot housed banks, stores, and offices. Between 1887 and 1914, several fires destroyed the record of much of Elk River's nineteenth- century commercial architecture. The 1898 Romdenne Block (now Sunshine Depot) at 701 Main Street, appears to the earliest survivor of Main Street, but its later neighbors such as the W.H. Houlton Block (1903; 304 Jackson Street) and the Bank of Elk River (1915; 315 Jackson Street) are among locally significant downtown commercial buildings. Al1 have had exterior modernizations, but a fair amount of historic fabric may survive behind the changes. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase [I Downtown Commercial Area Study 49 Study Objectives The Phase II historic resources inventory conducted between January and April 2002 focused on 23 downtown properties located within a four-block area. The study area was bounded roughly by Highway 10 at the north, Main Street at the south, King Street at the east, and Jackson Street at the west. (See Study Area Map, page 51.) The study boundary was determined by the City of Elk River and is consistent with the area being considered for future downtown redevelopment. The study was conducted to determine if any properties are eligible for the National Register of Historic Places. Downtown redevelopment is planned for this area, but plans have not been completed, so no exact area of potential effect can be determined. A companion study "Industry and Commerce, 1851-1950," was prepared as part of a city-wide historic contexts report. (See Part One, pages 25-36, of this report.) The National Register of Historic Places The National Register of Historic Places (NRHP) was established by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966. It is the official federal listing of the nation's cultural resources deemed worthy of preservation. The National Park Service maintains the list that includes properties of local and state significance as well as those of national significance. If any federally-funded new development, road construction, or other activities are planned that might have an effect on National Register listed or eligible properties, the project receives careful review at the state and federal level to assess the impact and plan mitigation if necessary. With the Commerce and Industry historic context, the Phase II study can contribute to planning for downtown revitalization and also assist the Elk River Heritage Preservation Commission in determining local designations, including a potential downtown historic district along one block of Jackson Street (304-323 Jackson). A property listed on the National Register must meet at least one of four criteria. Under the first criterion, a property may be registered if it is associated with events that have made a significant contribution to the broad patterns of national, state, or local history. Under the second, a property may be registered if it is associated with the lives of persons important in the past. The third criterion addresses architectural significance, and the fourth addresses archaeological significance. In addition, listed properties must be at least fifty years old, should not have been significantly altered, and should have not been moved. National Register nominations must receive approval from the State Historic Preservation Review Board, the State Historic Preservation Officer, and the National Park Service. Methods Property records were supplied by the City of Elk River and the Sherburne County Historical Society (SCHS). Of 26 properties currently listed on the State Historic Preservation Office database, none are downtown properties. Some information has been compiled by the SCHS, but there are no building permits or nineteenth- or early twentieth-century directories for Elk River, and little information about previous building uses. Historic photos were useful in determining some early business uses and tenants or owners. Fieldwork included preparation of exterior descriptions and photographs for each property. Summary of Findings None of the 23 properties appear to be NRHP- eligible. However, the five buildings on the west side of Jackson Street (304-323 Jackson) are recommended for further preservation study. In particular, 313 Jackson Street retains a good deal of historic character, especially at the upper story. The Jackson Street buildings are locally significant as the core of early twentieth-century downtown Elk River, and retain varying amounts of their historic facades. With its flat roof, Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 50 masonry facade, and brushed aluminum details, the Kemper Drugstore at 323 is locally significant as a well-conserved example of an early 1960s retail building. While most of the buildings on the south side of Main Street date from 1900 to 1914, most have been completely re-clad with wood or masonry facades that greatly alter their present appearance. 641 Main Street (ca. 1920) stands out as an early twentieth-century building with an intact roofline. Although individual buildings have been modernized, much of the general historic character of turn-of- the-century downtown Elk River has nevertheless survived. Character-defining features of downtown include the pedestrian-oriented size and scale of Main and Jackson street buildings, the integrity of the original street grid and its relationship to the Mississippi River, and the arrangement of buildings around Jackson Square, once Elk River's downtown park. Despite alterations, each downtown building possesses a rich record of connection with a century of Elk River history. Most have the potential for restoration and adaptive reuse and can anchor well- planned new downtown redevelopment. The Elk River Heritage Preservation Commission may consider the local sigt~ificance of proPerties in this study in recommending buildings and areas for future local designation. ~N MISSISSIPPI RIVER Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study Map Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 51 In 1894, most of Elk River's commercial buildings were north of the railroad depot. The Elk River House (fo~nerly Riverside Hotel) and the Merchants Hotel (later Blanchett Hotel), the Elk River Starch Company, liveries, dwellings, and a few commercial buildings were located to the south. (Samborn Map Co., Minnesota Historical Society.) In 1915, most commercial buildings north of the railroad depot are gone. New business blocks line Jac 'kson Street south of the depot opposite the park and bandstand. A row of one-story shops and a "picture theatre' are among new additions to Main Street. (Sanborn Map Co., Minnesota Historical Society.) Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study. 52 Elk River Downtown Commercial Area Property Description and Significance Address: 304 Jackson Street PIN: 75-405-0245 SHPO Inventory #: SH-ERC-033 Historic Name: Houlton Building Current Name: American National Bank Builder / Contractor: Original Owner/Tenant: ArchitectJSource: Thomas Tudor, Minneapolis, architect for remodeling Date of Original Construction: 1903; 1955 remodeling Date of Survey: March 2002 Prepared by: Carole Zellie / Landscape Research Photo: 1 Property Number:. 1 Description This two-story, cream brick building occupies a prominent corner lot at the northeast corner of Jackson and Main streets. The flat-roofed building has a canted corner still crowned by a parapet inscribed for W.H. Houlton, the original owner. The rectangular windows have prominent brick voussoirs and there are four courses of brick banding under the deep wood cornice. Each window has a rusticated stone sill. The original roofline of the building had stepped and gabled parapets, and tripartite bays on the east and south elevations. The comer bay appears to have been a later addition, and all the bays were removed by 1955. The 1955 remodeling included the installation of a reddish-brown polished granite facing on the entire first floor, with large display windows replacing the originals. The upper story windows were not altered, but the tripartite comer window was removed. The interior was also remodeled. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase Il Downtown Commercial Area Study 53 Elk River Downtown Commercial Area Property Description and Significance 304 Jackson Street, continued Significance This building is locally significant for its association with the Houlton family and Elk River's early mercantile and financial institutions. The relocation of the First National Bank at this key intersection was an important event after a series of downtown fires. The present building was apparently completed in 1903, after a previous building also erected by W.H. Houlton (ca. 1900) burned. The building has housed many firms. In addition to banks owned by the Houlton family, early tenants included the Heebner Mercantile Company and the Davis Bros. Store.at the ground level, and masofiic organizations on the second floor, including the G.A.R. Physicians' and other offices were also housed upstairs. The First National Bank relocated to its present location on Main Street in 1972. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 54 Elk River Downtown Commercial Area Property Description and Significance Address: 309 Jackson Street PIN: 75-405-0250 SHPO Inventory #: SH-ERC-034 Historic Name: Johnson Clothing Store Current Name: Antiques Downtown Builder / Contractor: Original Owner/Tenant: Architect/Source: Date of Original Construction: ca. 1911 Date of Survey: March 2002 Prepared by: Carole Zellie ! LandscapeResearch Photo: 2 Property Number: 2 Description The two-story brick building on this parcel is clad in metal, with no upper story windows. The first level has modem display windows. The historic building behind the screen may have been damaged in a fire in 1914. Historic photos show an earlier building with arched upper-story windows, and another view (ca. 1917) with large rectangular upper-story display windows. Significance This building is locally sig-nificant as an important survivor of an early twentieth- century commercial block. However, it is not known how much historic fabric survives behind the metal screen. A building shown on this site on the1899 Sanborn Map is labeled the Opera House. This building was apparently destroyed in a fire and rebuilt by 1911. At one time the present building housed the Johnson Clothing Store. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 55 Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 56 Elk River Downtown Commercial Area Property Description and Significance Address: 313 Jackson Street PIN: 75-405-0255 SHPO Inventory #: SH-ERC-035 Historic Name: Current Name: Olde Main Eatery and Sweet Shop Builder ! Contractor: Original Owner/Tenant: Architect/Source: Date of Original Construction: ca. 1910 Date of Survey: March 2002 Prepared by: Carole Zellie ! Landscape Research Photo: 3 Property Number: 3 Description This two-story brown brick building has a three-bay facade with brick pilasters and a deep corbel course at the parapet. The first story has modern display windows and has been painted white, but the upper story is well conserved. Long rectangular windows have stone sills. Umbrella-style awnings cover some architectural detail. Significance This building is locally significant an important survivor of the early twentieth-century commercial block opposite the former Jackson Square. The 1915 Sanborn map shows a grocery at this location. Despite the alterations noted above it retains a good level of historic integrity. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 57 Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 58 Elk River Downtown Commercial Area Property Description and Sibmificance Address: 315 Jackson Street PIN: 75-405-0260 SHPO Inventory #: SH-ERC-036 Historic Name: Bank of Elk River Current Name: Carlson Wagon lit Travel Builder ! Contractor. A. Moorman Company, St. Paul Original Owner/Tenant: Bank of Elk River Architect/Source: Date of Original ConstrUction: ca. 1915 Date of Survey: March 2002 Prepared by: Carole Zellie ! Landscape Research Photo: 4 Property Number: 4 Description The Bank of Elk River is a two- story cream brick building with a flat roof. The first story shows the original two-bay division of the fagade. The square pilasters with simple capitals flank bays filled with modem display windows. Above a deep cornice trimmed with a rusticated brownstone band, the upper story has six arched windows surrounded by a featureless cream brick fagade of relatively recent date. Several historic photos show the building before its upper story modernization and could be of great use in restoration. Significance This building is locally significant as the second location of the Bank of Elk River, the first bank in Sherbume County. Established in 1885 with W.L. Babcock, W. H. Houlton and Henry Castle as officers, the first bank was located on the north side of the railroad Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 59 Elk River Downtown Commercial Area Property Description and Significance 315 Jackson Street, continued tracks. After an 1898 fire, it was rebuilt at this address but burned again in 1915. The building was immediately rebuilt. The present building was designed and built by the A. Moorman Company of St. Paul. The building was completely wired in anticipation of the electrical service that arrived in 1916. The interior was furnished with,oak trim Italian marble counters and wainscoting, and tile floors. The Northwestern Telephone Exchange occupied the second floor, along with physicians' and attorneys' offices. Bank of Elk River (ca. 1915). MHS photo negative # 53717, 1953. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 60 Elk River Downtown Commercial Area Property Description and Significance Address: 323 Jackson Street PIN: 75-405-0265 SHPO Inventory #: SH-ERC-037 Historic Name: Kemper Drug Current Name: Kemper Drug Builder ! Contractor:. Original Owner/Tenant: Architect!Source: Date of Original Construction: 1961 Date of Survey: March 2002 Prepared by: Carole Zellie / Landscape Research Photo: 5 ~ Property Number: 5 Description Kemper Drug is a one-story stone-clad building with a flat roof and metal coping at the parapet. The first story is filled with modem display windows sheltered by a brushed aluminum marquee. The corner neon sign appears to date from the original construction. Significance Kemper Drug is locally significant as a mid-twentieth century addition to the downtown commercial district. The building has a good deal of original integrity. It replaced a two- story brick building destroyed in a fire. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase H Downtozon Commercial Area Stud.,/ 61 Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 62 Elk River Downtown Commercial Area Property Description and Significance Address: Southeast corner, Jackson and Main Streets PIN: 75-405-0320 SHPO Inventory #: SH-ERC-038 Historic Name: Jackson Square Current Name: Parking Lot Builder / Contractor:. Original Owner/Tenant: City of Elk River Architect/Source: Date of Original Construction: ca. 1900 Date of Survey: March 2002 Prepared by: Carole Zellie ! Landscape Research Photo: 6 Property Number: 6 Description Jackson Square was created when the townsite of Elk River was platted in 1865, but most the area around it was not built up until after 1900. The square occupied the northern edge of the wedge-shaped block; the Blanchett Hotel was at the southern edge. The space was not improved until the early twentieth century; photographs of 1917 show that the square had a few large mature trees but it does not appear to have been formally landscaped. A small wooden pavilion fronted on Main Street. The square is now a surface parking lot. Significance Jackson Square was locally significant as the central public space in Elk River and the focus of many community celebrations and events. These functions ceased when it was converted to a parking lot. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 63 Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study Elk River Downtown Commercial Area Property Description and Significance Address: 657 Main Street PIN: 75-405-0410 SHPO Inventory #: SH-ERC-039 Historic Name: Elk River Theatre; Nu-Elk Theatre (ca. 1970s) Current Name: Cinema Professional Building Builder ! Contractor: Original Owner/Tenant: Architect/Source: Date of Original Construction: 1947 Date of Survey: March 2002 Prepared by: Carole Zellie /Landscape Research Photo: 7 Property Number:. 7 Description: This two-story building has a flat roof and is constructed of concrete block. The faCade is covered in brick, wood paneling, and wood shingles. The original facade was reportedly stucco-clad and appears to have had a central marquee that is boxed in by the modernizations. A painted mural covers the north side of the building. Significance One of two theatres that stood on this block, this building was one of the last additions · to Main Street before 1950. A Guide to the Architecture of Minnesota (University of Milmesota Press, 1977) noted that the building was "styled in the Streamline Moderne with white stucco and glass brick comers (p. 160). At present the exterior does not retain historic integrity. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase H Downtown Commercial Area Study 65 Elk' River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 66 Elk River Downtown Commercial Area Property Description and Significance Address: 653 Main Street PIN: 75-405-0420 SHPO Inventory #-SH-ERC-040 Historic Name: Current Name: Elk River Chiropractic Builder / Contractor: Original Owner/Tenant: Architect!Source: Date of Original Construction: 1915-1928 Date of Survey: March 2002 Prepared by: Carole Zellie ! Landscape Research Photo: 8 Property Number: $ Description This one-story brick building has a modem stone fagade. The central entry is flanked by two display windows that are partially filled with glass block and there is a glass block transom over the door. Significance This building appears to have been constructed at about the same time as other one- story commercial development on the block. At present the exterior does not retain historic integrity. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase [I Downtown Commercial Area Study 67 Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 68 Elk River Downtown Commercial Area Property Description and Significance Address: 651 Main Street PIN: 75-405-0430 · SHPO Inventory #: SH-ERC-041 Historic Name: Royal Theatre Current Name: Dick's Main Tap Builder ! Contractor:. -' Original Owner/Tenant: Architect/Source: Date of Original Construction: ca. 1915. Date of Survey: March 2002 Prepared by: Carole Zellie / Landscape Research Photo: 9 Property Number. 9 Description The former Royal Theatre is a two-story, brick-faced structure with a flat roof. The building facade has been re-clad in brick, wood, and wood shingles and no original features are visible. A curved parapet, possibly from the original roofline, remains intact. Significance This building appears on the 1915 Sanborn Map as a "picture theatre." Also known as the Elk Theatre, the community's first "all talking picture" was shoWn here. (Sherburne County Star News, 27 Feb. 1930, 1.) The building was electrified in 1916. At present the exterior does not retain historic integrity. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 69 Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 70 Elk River Downtown Commercial Area Proper~ Description and Significance Address: 649 Main Street (west unit) PIN: 75-405-0430 SHPO Inventory #: SH-ERC-042 Historic Name: Sherbume County/Elk River Star News Current Name: Haberdashery Builder ! Contractor: Original Owner/Tenant: Charles Babcock Architect!Source: Date of Original Construction: 1904 Date of Survey: March 2002 Prepared by: Carole Zellie ! Landscape Research Photo: 10 Property Number: 10 This one- story, two-unit store building has a flat roof. The red brick building has tWO store unitS divided by a brick pier. The storefronts have been modernized and clad in permastone, and the transom filled with glass block. The simple brick parapet with a corbel course is intact. Sioonificance 649 Main Street is typical of Elk River's smaller commercial buildings built between ca. 1904 and 1912. The 1915 Sanborn Map labels this building as'a print shop. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 71 Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 72 Elk River Downtown Commercial Area Property Description and Significance Address: 647 Main Street ( east unit) PIN: 75-405-0440 SHPO Inventory #: SH-ERC-043 Historic Name: 'Sherburne County/Elk River Star News Current Name: Jenson and Associates Law Office BUilder ! Contractor: Original Owner/Tenant: Architect/Source: Date of Original Construction: ca. 1904 Date of Survey: March 2002 Prepared by: Carole Zellie / LandscaPe Research Photo: 11 Property Number: 11 Description This one-story, two-unit store building has a flat roof. The red brick building has two storefronts divided by a brick pier. The storefronts have been modernized and clad in permastone, and the transom filled with glass block. The simple parapet with a corbel course is intact. Significance 647 Main Street is typical of Elk River's smaller commercial buildings built between.ca. 1904 and 1912. The 1915 Sanborn map shows the Crescent Creamery Company at this location. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Co~nmercial Area Study 73 Elk River HistOric Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 74 Elk River Downtown Commercial Area Property Description and Significance Address: 641 Main Street PIN: 75-405-0450 SHPO Inventory #: SH-ERC-044 Historic Name: Current Name: Nextel Cell Phone Builder ! Contractor: Original Owner/Tenant: Sherbume County Farm Bureau Architect/Source: Date-of Original Construction: ca. 19207 Date of Survey: March 2002 Prepared by: Carole Zellie ! Landscape Research Photo: 12 Property Number: 12 Description This one-story, gable-roofed frame building is clad in stucco. It has a boomtown facade with a small pediment atop the parapet. The storefront has been modernized but the building retains much of its historic integrity. There is a one-story modem building (construction date unknown) at the rear. Significance This building is locally significant as a relatively intact early survivor of Main Street. According to local historians, the Sherbume County Farm Bureau was housed here for a number of years. The 1915 Sanborn map shows a post office in this approximate location. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 75 Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase [I Downtown Commercial Area Study 76 Elk River Downtown Commercial Area Property Description and Significance Address: 701 Main Street PIN: 75-405-0555 SHPO Inventory #: SH-ERC-045 Historic Name: Romdenne and Co. Current Name: Sunshine Depot Builder ! Contractor:' Original Owner/Tenant: Joseph Romdenne Architect/Source: Date of Original Construction: 1898 Date of Survey: March 2002 Prepared by: Carole Zellie ! Landscape Research Photo: 13 Property Number: 13 Description This two-story, flat-roofed store building is clad in cream brick. The original facade is completely covered by a new brick and wood facade, capped by a wood shingled mansard roof. It is not known how much of the original facade might survive' behind the modernization. The original three-bay design had a central entry flanked by large display windows and an upper story with three windows. The side chimney evident today is seen on early photographs. Significance The Romdenne and Co. building has lost nearly all of its historic integrity because of facade modernizations. One of the earliest commercial buildings in the town center that developed at Main and Jackson streets, and one of the first built after the fire of 1898, it was owned by Joseph Romdenne. Romdenne and Co. was one of several general a d drug stores in Elk River at the turn of the century. A livery stable is shown on this site on the 1894 Sanborn Map prior to the construction of the present building. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Dozontown Com~nercial Area Study Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 78 Elk River Downtown Commercial Area Property Description and Significance Address: 703 Main Street (? PIN: 75-405-0555 SHPO Inventory #: SH-ERC-046 Historic Name: Current Name: Sunshine Depot annex Builder ! ContraCtor: Original Owner/Tenant: Architect/Source: Date of Original Construction: recent; exact date unknown. Date of Survey: March 2002 Prepared by: Carole Zellie /Landscape Research Photo: 14 Property Number: 14 Description This one-story brick building has a wood-clad facade completely clad with no openings facing Main Street. ,. Significance, This property has no apparent historic significance and no historic integrity. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 79 Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 80 Elk River Downtown Commercial Area Property Description and Significance ..'". L:. ::i'::gi!.':~:' ~' Address: 705 ~ain Street ?TN: 75-~05-0560 SH?O inventor), #: SH-ERC'0~7 Historic Name: Cu~ent Name: Water,aH Salon and Day Spa Builder / Contractoc Original Owner/Tenant: Architec~Source: Date o~ Original Const~ction: unknown Date of Su~ey: ~arch 2002 ~re~ared by: Carole Zellie / Landscape ~esearch ~hoto: 16 ~rope~ Number: 16 Description This building has a false gable roof above modem display windows. Significance The original appearance of this building is unknown and has no historic integrity. Elk.River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 81 Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 82 Elk River Downtown Commercial Area Property Description and Significance Address: 707 Main Street PIN: 75-405-0535 SHPO Inventory #: SH-ERC-048 Historic Name: Current Name: Cut Hut Builder ! Contractor: Original Ownerfrenant:_ Architect/Source: Date of Original Construction: unknown Date of Survey: March 2002 Prepared by: Carole Zellie ! Landscape Research Photo: 16 Property Number: 16 Description The Cut Hut has a steeply-pitched roof and a central dormer above modem display windows. Significance The original appearance of this building is unknown and has no historic integrity. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Comnlercial Area Study 83 Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 84 Elk River Downtown Commercial Area Property Description and Significance Address: 709-711 Main Street PIN: 75-405-0515 SHPO Inventory #: SH-ERC-049 Historic Name: Current Name: Daddy O's Builder ! Contractor:. Original Owner/Tenant: Architect/Source: Date of Original Construction: ca. 1911 Date of Survey: March 2002 Prepared by: Carole Zellie / Landscape Research Photo: 17 Property Number:. 17 Description This appears to be one. of five stores in a one-story brick block that occupies Lots 3 and 4 of Block 5. All have been extensively remodeled with false fronts of various types. This property has been re-clad with wood siding and a modem display window. Significance This building has no historic integrity, although it is possible that a portion of the original facade survives behind the modernizations. The building under the facade alterations was reportedly built in 1911, after an earlier fire that destroyed this section of the block. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 85 Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Do~mtown Commercial Area Study 86 Elk River Downtown Commercial Property Description and Significance Address: 713 Main Street PIN: 75-405-0530 SHPO Inventory #: SH-ERC-050 Historic Name: Current Name: Don's Bakery Builder ! Contractor. Original Owner/Tenant: Architect/Source: Date of Original Construction: 'ca. 1911 Date of Survey: March 2002 Prepared by: Carole Zellie / Landscape Research Photo: 18 Property Number:. 18 Description This building appears to be one of five stores in a one-story brick block that occupies Lots 3 and 4 of Block .5.' All have been extensively remodeled with false fronts of various types. This property has been re-clad with a shingled mansard and modem display window. Significance This building has no historic integrity, although it is possible that a portion of the original facade survives behind the modernizations. The building under the facade alterations was reportedly built in 1911, after an earlier fire that destroyed this section of the block. 713 Main Street Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 87 Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 88' Elk River Downtown Commercial Area Property Description and Significance t .......... ~.;::::~ .. Address: 715 Main Street PIN: 75-405-0525 SHPO Inventory #: SH-£RC-051 Historic Name: Ardy's on Main Current Name: Builder [ Contractor: Original Owner/Tenant: Architect]Source: Date of Original Construction: ca. . Date of Survey: March 2002 Prepared by: Carole Zellie [ Landscape Research Photo: 19 Property Number:. 19 Description This building appears to be one of five stores in a one-story brick block that occupies Lots 3 and 4 of Block 5. All have been extensively remodeled with false fronts of various types. This property has been re-clad with a shingled roof above a remodeled storefront. Unlike the others, the red brick parapet of the ori~nal building is exposed. Significance This building has no historic integrity, although it is possible that a portion of the original facade survives behind the modernizations. The building under the fagade alterations was reportedly built in 1911, after an earlier fire that destroyed this section of the block. 715 Main Street Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase H Downtown Commercial Area Study 89 Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Connnercial Area Study 90 Elk River Downtown Commercial Area Property Description and Significance Address: 717 Main Street/ PIN: 75-405-2520 / SHPO Inventory #: SH-ERK2-052 Historic Name: Mikol's Current Name: Builder ! Contractor: Original Owner/Tenant: Architect/Source: Date of Original Construction: ca. 1911 Date of Survey: March 2002 Prepared by: Carole Zellie ! Landscape Research Photo: 20 Property Number: 20 717 Main Street Description This building appears to be one of five stores in a one-story brick block that occupies Lots 3 and 4 of Block 5. All have been extensively remodeled with false fronts of various types. This property 'has been re-clad with a woc~den screen above a remodeled storefront. Significance This building has no historic integrity, although it is possible that a portion of the original facade survives behind the modernizations. The building under the facade alterations was reportedly built in 1911, after an earlier fire that destroyed this section of the block. Elk River Historic Contexts and Plmse II Downtown Commercial Area Study 91 Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 92 Elk River Downtown Commercial Area Property Description and Significance Address: 720 Main Street PIN: 75-405-0235 SHPO Inventory #: SH-ERC-053 HistOric Name: Current Name: Bumper to Bumper Builder ! Contractor: Original Owner/Tenant: Architect!Source: Date of Original Construction: unknown Date of Survey: March 2002 Prepared by: Carole Zellie / Landscape Research Photo: 22 Property Number: 22 Description This one story, brick-clad building has an extensively modernized facade. Significance The exterior of this building has no remaining historic integrity due to modernization. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 93 Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 94 Elk River Downtown Commercial Area Prope.rty Description and Significance Address: 724 Main Street PIN: 75-405-0225 SHPO Inventory #: SH-ERC-054 Historic Name: Current Name: . Elk River Meats Builder ! Contractor: Original Owner/Tenant: Architect/Source: Date of Original ConstructiOn: ca. 1904-1915 Date of Survey: March 2002 Prepared by: Carole Zellie / Landscape Research Photo: 21 Property Number: 21 Description This one-story, flat-roofed building is clad in tan brick. The parapet of the original design is evident above the modernized faqade. Significance Although this building has lost historic integrity through storefront modemizati0n, the original roofline is intact. It is typical of the one-story buildings erected along Main Street in the early twentieth century. Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps show a meat market in this approximate location by 1904, but possibly in an earlier building. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 95 Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 96 Elk River Downtown Commercial Area Property Description and Significance Address: 322 King Street PIN: 75-405-0215 SHPO Inventory #: SH-ERC-055 Historic Name: Current Name: Municipal Utilities Building Builder ! Contractor: Original Owner/Tenant: City of Elk River Architect!Source: Date of Original Construction: ca. 1920 Date of Survey: March 2002 Photo: 23 Property Number: 23 Description This one-story building has a brown brick facade with concrete window sill and lintels. There is a metal-capped, stepped brick parapet filled with tapestry panels trimmed with tan stone insets. The windows and entry are modem metal units. The side and rear elevations have been re-clad with modem paneling. Significance 322 King Street was constructed as a municipal building and has housed a number of offices and other uses including the city library and fire station. The building retains generally good exterior integrity. Elk River Historic Contexts and Phase II Downtown Commercial Area Study 97